Friday, February 18, 2011

Secretarily Employed

I've come to realize that I hate being a secretary. You just sit here listening to other people's shit and pretending to give a damn. Moving mountains should be under my job title for sure because that's what these fools expect me to do. And today I'm in the office all by myself. There are at least 2 problems I have with this fact.

1) The dean that I am secretary for isn't even here.
2) It's a Friday and no one is going to be here or need anything except maybe once every 2-3 hours.
3) Parents think they yield the hand of God because they expect me to hunt down these advisors or whoever the hell they need to talk to.

My biggest issue is #3. Ok you're someone's mom. Congratulations you raised a 20-ish little hellcat. But I don't see why you need to call on behalf of your son/daughter. Cut the damn umbilical cord already it's a damn phone call. If they can't do that on their own then they just deserve to rot in McDonalds for a lifetime at minimum wage. If you can't get a hold of an advisor, you've left a message then good. Now it's time to wait. Don't call me back, expecting me to hunt them down and tell them that you called. Because first off, even though you told me your insignificant name, I didn't write it down, I don't remember it and basically I'm not gonna do shit. Your message is on his answering machine, either wait for him to call you or call him back. Simple as that! Get over yourself, please and thank you! I don't get paid enough to be the dean's whipping boy, my boss's whipping boy AND all criminology student parent's whipping boy. So adios!

Part Deux to my rant:

I've come to realize I'm so impatient, and it's really not a good thing.

No comments: